Match ReportKerala Blasters FC end their Durand Cup 2023 campaign, with a resounding 5-0 victory against IAFT

Kerala Blasters FC end their Durand Cup 2023 campaign, with a resounding 5-0 victory against IAFT

Kerala Blasters stepped on the field at East Bengal Ground in Kolkata for an afternoon game against Indian Air Force Football Team earlier today. The eleven to take field in today’s game had a large core of youngsters lead by the experienced Pritam Kotal who donned the captain’s armband in absence of Adrian Luna.

The Blasters dictated the pace of the game from the very first whistle with precise and sharp passing, creating constant attacks at the goal of the opponent.

This sustained pressure helped Blasters in scoring their first goal in the 9th minute through a well placed shot from young Mohammed Aimen, earning him, his third goal in as many games of the tournament.

Bidyashagar soon added to the Blasters goal tally with a clean strike in the 12th minute to assert his presence in the game. From there through the end of the first half KBFC held a large chunk of the possession with the midfielders combining smartly with the strikers to create multiple chances, without any further addition to the goals scored.

In the second half, Kerala Blasters opened their scoring in the 57th minute through midfielder Danish Farooq who impressed with his all-round play both at the back and frontline of the pitch today.

In the 62nd minute Vibin Mohanan provided a nicely aimed left footed cross that Bidyashagar headed into the goal to make it 4-0 for Blasters.

KBFC rounded off their goal count for with a fifth goal in the 82nd minute again through Bidyashagar, who also brought up his hat-trick through that strike, producing a near flawless performance in the game.

Kerala Blasters bows out of the Durand Cup 2023 with this dominant performance, with the highlight being the younger, inexperienced members of the squad stepping up and performing for the team.


Formed on 27th May 2014, Kerala Blasters FC is one of the eleven teams that is a part of the Indian Super League (ISL) since its inception, with its Home ground at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Kaloor, Kochi.