ArticlesThe RewindTHE REWIND : SCEB vs KBFC

December 13, 2021by KBFC Media Desk


Kerala Blasters were held at 1-1 draw by SC East Bengal in the fifth match of this ISL campaign. An equalizer in the first half from Alvaro Vazquez earned us one point.

Vukomanovic made three changes in the starting eleven from the last game against Odisha. Prabhsukhan Gill, Sandeep Singh and Prasanth Mohan had their first starts of the season. The game started off in a slow pace with Blasters having the majority of the ball under their feet.

It was Vazquez who found the nets for the first time in the game but the goal was disallowed after a few moments. Puitea’s shot to the target was deflected off from Amarjit’s hand and it came all the way to Alvaro inside the box, who did well to drive the ball into the net. Referee gave the goal at first but changed his mind a few seconds after and the Blasters were awarded a free-kick instead. Leskovic stepped up for the kick, but failed to be accurate.

East Bengal took the lead through their skipper Tomislav Mrcela who flicked the long throw ball from Raju Gaikwad to the net. Right after the goal, Enes Sipovic was replaced with Abdul Hakku due to some discomfort in his leg.

Blasters’ equalizer came all the way from Alvaro Vazquez and the Spaniard did it for the second time in a row. Jessel and Vazquez played one-two passes from the left side of the box and the sudden, powerful shot by Alvaro was deflected off from Mrcela’s head and gave no chance for the goalkeeper to react.

In the second half of the game, Blasters enjoyed good spells with the ball and often attacked through the right wing. Jorge Pereyra Diaz, who came in as substitute scored for KBFC, but once again it was disallowed by the referee claiming that the Argentine pushed the defender already. On the other side, Gill pulled off two fantastic saves to deny Perosevic on both occasions.

The closely contested match came to an end after 5 minutes of added time. Adrian Luna, who made his presence felt everywhere in the pitch was rewarded with Hero of the Match award in the second consecutive match.

KBFC XI:- Prabhsukhan Singh Gill(GK), Sandeep Singh Soraisam, Enes Sipovic, Jessel Allen Carneiro(C), Marko Leskovic, Lalthathanga Khawlhring, Sahal Abdul Samad, Adrian Luna, Prasanth Karuthadathkuni, Jeakson Singh Thounaojam, Alvaro Vazquez.

Subs: Sachin Suresh(Gk), Nishu Kumar, Yendrembam Denechandra Meitei, Abdul Hakku Nediyodeth, Givson Singh Moirangthem, Irom Seityasen Singh, Vincy Barretto, Jorge Pereya Diaz, Chencho Gyeltshen.

SCEB XI:-Sankar Roy(GK), Tomislav Mrcela (C), Hira Mondal, Raju Gaikwad, Franjo Prce, Sourav Das, Lalrinliana Hnamte, Amarjit Kiyam, Antonio Perosevic, Thongkhosiem Haokip, Daniel Chukwu.

Subs: Suvam Sen(GK), Daniel Gomes, Adil Khan, Joyner Lourenco, Wahengbam Angousana Luwang, Amir Dervisevic, Bikash Jairu, Naorem Mahesh Singh.




Formed on 27th May 2014, Kerala Blasters FC is one of the eleven teams that is a part of the Indian Super League (ISL) since its inception, with its Home ground at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Kaloor, Kochi.

KBFC Connect

Kerala Blasters FC
Jawaharlal Nehru International Stadium,Stadium Link Road,Kaloor, Kochi, Kerala 682017

Latest Tweets

@KeralaBlasters - 2 hours

Everyday is with fans like the Yellow Army! 🟡💛 #കേരളബ്ലാസ്റ്റേഴ്സ്

@KeralaBlasters - 16 hours

Here's Saurav's 21/22 season in the I-League in numbers 🔢 #കേരളബ്ലാസ്റ്റേഴ്സ്

All contents © copyright Kerala Blasters FC. All rights reserved.