ArticlesThe RewindTHE REWIND: KBFC vs FCG

January 3, 2022by KBFC Media Desk
WhatsApp Image 2022-01-03 at 11.10.25


Kerala Blasters were held to a 2-2 draw by FC Goa at Tilak Maidan, Vasco. All the 4 goals came in the first half as we extended our unbeaten run to the eighth straight game.

Gaffer Ivan Vukomanovic made only one change as our local-lad Bijoy V was called up to the starting eleven second time this season. KBFC was in the driving seat of the game for the first 20 minutes and took an early lead against the Goan side. It was Jeakson Singh who delivered a perfect flicking-header from an inswinging Adrian Luna corner to put Blasters in front(1-0).

Goa tried to create a breakthrough but our defense maintained good shape to keep them away from scoring. Luna once again stepped up for KBFC with a sensational shot to give us a two goal lead. The front three of KBFC combined well for this goal with Diaz putting efforts to keep the ball in play and Vazquez providing the assist to Luna. After receiving the ball, the Uruguayan wizard looked up to see the goalkeeper and whipped in a shot that no goalkeeper could save.

Couple of minutes later, FC Goa pulled one back through Jorge Ortiz’s sleek finish to the goal(2-1). Sahal Abdul Samad got an open chance at the other end to extend the Blasters’ lead to 3-1 but he headed the ball away from target. Afterwards Goa put constant pressure to equalise and they did it through a mesmerizing Olympic goal from their skipper Edu Bedia.

In the second half Goa played more with the ball as they attacked relentlessly but our defense managed to keep the score at level. Chencho Gyeltshen who came in for Luna nearly scored his first goal in yellow in the 67th minute, but his efforts to control the ball failed and Goa defense cleared it away.

The dying minutes of the second half saw attacks by both teams but they equally failed to convert the chances into goals. Birthday boy Gill pulled out an excellent save to deny the Gaurs a late-winner.

With this draw KBFC has moved up to third place in the table and has extended the unbeaten run to 8 games. We look forward to improving from this game and be prepared to face the next challenge. Blasters will be in action against the Nizams on Sunday, 9th January 2022.

KBFC XI:- Prabhsukhan Singh Gill(GK), Harmanjot Singh Khabra, V Bijoy, Marko Leskovic, Jessel Allen Carneiro(C), Jeakson Singh Thounaojam, Lalthathanga Khawlhring, Adrian Luna, Sahal Abdul Samad, Alvaro Vazquez, Jorge Pereyra Diaz.

Subs:- Sachin Suresh(GK), Nishu Kumar, Sandeep Singh Soraisam, Enes Sipovic, Ayush Adhikari, Givson Singh Moirangthem, Chencho Gyeltshen, Prasanth Karuthadathkuni.

FCG XI:- Dheeraj Singh Moirangthem(GK), Aiban Dohling, Ivan Gonzalez, Dylan Fox, Seriton Fernandes, Edu Bedia(C), Glan Martins, Saviour Gama, Mohammed Nemil Valiyattil, Devendra Murgaonkar, Jorge Ortiz Mendoza.

Subs:- Sanson Pereira, Anwar Ali, Leander D’Cunha, Princeton Rebello, Alexander Romario Jesuraj, Nongdamba Naorem, Makan Winkle Chote, Redeem Tlang, Hrithik Tiwari(GK).




Formed on 27th May 2014, Kerala Blasters FC is one of the eleven teams that is a part of the Indian Super League (ISL) since its inception, with its Home ground at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Kaloor, Kochi.

KBFC Connect

Kerala Blasters FC
Jawaharlal Nehru International Stadium,Stadium Link Road,Kaloor, Kochi, Kerala 682017

Latest Tweets

@KeralaBlasters - 3 hours

Everyday is with fans like the Yellow Army! 🟡💛 #കേരളബ്ലാസ്റ്റേഴ്സ്

@KeralaBlasters - 16 hours

Here's Saurav's 21/22 season in the I-League in numbers 🔢 #കേരളബ്ലാസ്റ്റേഴ്സ്

All contents © copyright Kerala Blasters FC. All rights reserved.