LeagueReportMatch Day Report :NEUFC v KBFC

February 27, 2021by KBFC Media


Friday, 26 February, 2021

Kerala Blasters FC played its last game this season at the Tilak Maidan Stadium, Vasco, yesterday against the Highlanders. The match ended 2-0 with Northeast United FC snatching all the three points last night.

Our Interim Head Coach Ishfaq Ahmed fielded our players in a 4-4-1-1 formation with Kone and Costa guarding the defence line. Young players like Subha Ghosh and Muheet Khan made it to the bench for the first time this season.

The First Half started with both the teams fighting for possession in the game. Our team came better in the first half hour with a good string of pressing performances but to our dismay, Suhair V. P broke the deadlock in the 34th minute beating two defenders and our custodian Albino Gomes to give the Highlanders the lead.

Minutes later in the 45th minute Apuia doubled the lead through a long ranger from the left flank which hit the woodwork and went in, giving our flying goalkeeper Albino Gomes no chance.

The second half witnessed some good chances made by our Attacking duo of Jordan Murray and Gary Hooper but the lack of clinical finishing in the final third denied us the much needed goals. The game witnessed some quick flash moves from Prasanth as the young winger found his rhythm in the last few games after a string of neutral performances in the early part of this season. In the 87th minute, our forward Gary Hopper made way for our young prospect Givson Singh in the game. Although our team pushed hard in the dying moments, we couldn’t finish the chances made to alter the results before the referee blew the final whistle in our final game of this season.

Analyzing the performances this season, we promise to comeback stronger next season.

KBFC (4-4-1-1) Albino Geovanni Gomes (GK),Sandeep Singh Soraisham, Bakary Kone, Prasanth Karuthadathkuni, Jordan Murray, Jessel Allan Carneiro, Thounaojam Jeakson Singh, Rahul Kannoly Praveen, Jose Vicente Gomez Umpierrez, Costa Nhamoinesu, Gary Hooper

SUBS – Irom Seityasen Singh, Givson Singh Moirangthem, Ayush Adhikari, Juan De Dios Prados Lopez, Lalruatthara, Yendrembam Denechandram Meitei, Lalthathanga Khawlhring, Subha Ghosh, Muheet Shabir Khan

NEUFC (4-3-3) Subhasish Roy Chowdhury (GK), Provat Lakra, Khassa Camara, Imran Khan, Suhair Vadakkepeedika, Dylan James Fox, Benjamin Lambot, Luis Machado, Deshorn Dwayne Brown, Nim Dorjee Tamang, Lalengmawia

SUBS – Gurjinder Kumar, Khumanthem Ninthoinganba Meetei, Federico Gallego Revetria, Idrissa Sylla, Ashutosh Mehta, Lalrempuia Fanai, Gurmeet, Britto P M, Mashoor Shereef Thangalakath




Formed on 27th May 2014, Kerala Blasters FC is one of the eleven teams that is a part of the Indian Super League (ISL) since its inception, with its Home ground at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Kaloor, Kochi.

KBFC Connect

Kerala Blasters FC
Jawaharlal Nehru International Stadium,Stadium Link Road,Kaloor, Kochi, Kerala 682017

Latest Tweets

@KeralaBlasters - 10 hours

നന്നായിട്ടുണ്ട് 👌

@KeralaBlasters - 10 hours

3 മലയാളികൾ വേണം 👀

All contents © copyright Kerala Blasters FC. All rights reserved.