LeagueReportMatch Day Report : KBFC v HFC

December 28, 2020by KBFC Media


Sunday , 27 Dec, 2020 , GMC Bambolim


Last night at Bambolim we witnessed the rise of our Men in Yellow who came out strong against the balanced Hyderabad FC to grab the much needed three points at the end of the day.

Our Head coach Kibu Vicuna was bold enough to rest the big guns like Gary Hooper, Bakary Kone and Costa Nhamoinesu and gave an opportunity to our young Indian prospects to prove themselves. To everyone’s astonishment, our coach fielded the players in a 4-3-3 formation with an all-Indian defense line consisting of Nishu Kumar – Abdul Hakku – Sandeep Singh and Jessel Carneiro as our solid Yellow wall for the night.

The match started with our boys steering the game as usual. The Men in Yellow stuck strictly to our coach’s tactics of keeping the possession in the opponent’s half, which paid dividends in the 29th minute of the game from a perfectly taken corner by the Argentinian midfielder Facundo Pereyra. An inch-perfect corner was met by our local boy Hakku as he headed past the helpless keeper, breaking the deadlock and scoring his first ISL goal in his first appearance in our Yellow jersey this season.

The Hyderabadians went all-out for an equaliser before halftime but couldn’t get past our custodian Albino Gomes who was on top form for the Yellow Army yet again last night.

Our boys put tremendous pressure in the opposition’s half in the second half of the game. Local lads Sahal Abdul Samad and Rahul K. P. also rose to the occasion and we witnessed some great attempts on goal from them throughout the match. The match also saw the importance of Jeakson Singh, the engine in our midfield who coordinated well with the Spaniard Vicente Gomez throughout the match in initiating attacks and blocking some vital moves from the opposition.

The Hyderabadians who were keenly pushing for a late equalizer were set back by a goal by our Aussie Sniper Jordan Murray in the 88th minute who took advantage of a loose ball inside the box and volleyed it straight into the bottom corner of the goal. Our boys held on to the 2-0 lead until the referee blew the final whistle registering our first win of this season and last win of the year 2020.

Our coach was full of praise for our boys as they displayed a team performance throughout the match. Kibu Vicuña opened up his mind about the performance of our boys after the match, “I’m very happy with Sandeep, Hakku and Jeakson’s performance. For me there is no difference between the foreign and the Indian players. When a train is coming you take the bag and take the train. That’s what these players did.”

Keeping ourselves motivated, we’ll take the roads to meet our next opponents Mumbai City FC on the 2nd of January 2021. Beginning from a bad start to grab our first win last day, faith and teamwork are what drives and motivates us. We play for our 12th man who have always kept faith in us, and our win is a Christmas present for all the passionate fans out there.

KBFC (4-3-3): Albino Gomes; Nishu Kumar, Abdul Hakku, Sandeep Singh, Jessel Carneiro; Sahal Abdul Samad, Vicente Gomez, Jeakson Singh; Rahul KP, Facundo Pereyra, Jordan Murray

SUBS-Prabhsukhan Singh Gill, Prasanth K, Ritwik Das, Puitea, Denechandra Meitei, Lalruatthara, Givson Singh, Seithyasen Singh, Rohit Kumar

HFC (4-2-3-1): Subrata Paul; Asish Rai, Odei Onaindia, Chinglensena Singh, Akash Mishra; Joao Victor, Hitesh Sharma; Liston Colaco, Mohammed Yasir, Halicharan Narzary; Aridane Santana

SUBS-Laxmikant Kattimani, Adil Khan, Tavora, Danmawia, Lalawmpuia, Sandaza, Souvik, Danu, Panwar




Formed on 27th May 2014, Kerala Blasters FC is one of the eleven teams that is a part of the Indian Super League (ISL) since its inception, with its Home ground at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Kaloor, Kochi.

KBFC Connect

Kerala Blasters FC
Jawaharlal Nehru International Stadium,Stadium Link Road,Kaloor, Kochi, Kerala 682017

Latest Tweets

@KeralaBlasters - 9 hours

നന്നായിട്ടുണ്ട് 👌

@KeralaBlasters - 10 hours

3 മലയാളികൾ വേണം 👀

All contents © copyright Kerala Blasters FC. All rights reserved.