LeagueReportMatch Day Report : ATKMB v KBFC

February 1, 2021by KBFC Media


Sunday , 31 Jan, 2021, Fatorda
65'(P), 87' KRISHNA


Last night at the Fatorda Stadium, the League witnessed the clash between the familiar foes ATK Mohun Bagan FC and Kerala Blasters FC. The fierce clash resulted in a 3-2 win in favor of the Mariners.

Our Head Coach Kibu Vicuña, who was back from suspension fielded our boys in 4-4-1-1 with Jordan Murray as the target man and Gary Hooper in the role of a withdrawn striker. Our Goan defender Jessel Carneiro wore the Captain’s armband for the night.

The first half kicked off with both the teams fighting for possession in the midfield. Our Englishman Gary Hooper broke the deadlock in the 13th minute with a stunning long ranger goal utilizing the pass from Sandeep Singh from the right flank. Hooper chested the ball down to set himself up and struck a venomous long ranger to give an early lead for the Yellow Army. Our boys made back-to-back attacks into the opposition box but couldn’t convert the chances till Half Time.

The second half began with yet another goal from our Men in Yellow through Costa Nhamoinesu. Utilizing the corner from Sahal, Rahul guided the ball to Costa who headed first and scored in his second attempt from close range beating the keeper.

The Mariners scored their first goal from their debutant Marcelinho in the 58th minute of the game. The Brazilian took advantage of our advanced keeper Albino and lobbed the ball straight into the net thereby scoring his first goal in the Maroon and Green outfit. In the light of some dramatic events, the Mariners were awarded a penalty in the 64th minute by the referee claiming to be a handball from our Captain Jessel inside the box. The Fijian Striker Roy Krishna took the penalty and scored beating Albino Gomes.

To the dismay of our Men in Yellow, the Fijian Striker Roy Krishna scored yet again to gain the lead for the Mariners in the 87th minute of the game. Roy Krishna took advantage of the defensive mistake to net his second goal for the night. Our boys pressed hard in the extra minutes of the game but couldn’t convert any chances to turnaround the result.

Our Head Coach Kibu Vicuña shared his views on the result. He opined, “I think we played well, but I think they got a couple of easy decisions. I think it was not a fair result. Congratulations to ATK Mohun Bagan but I am upset because they have not been fair to us.”

The boss also expressed his displeasure with the refereeing decisions that went against our team. He responded, “I’m very frustrated. We are here to have a good attitude and be a good team. But being good seems to be bad. There are other benches which have disrespectful behavior, but I think I’m just trying to be respectful enough towards the officials.”

KBFC (4-4-1-1): Albino Geovanni Gomes (GK), Sandeep Singh Soraisham, Jordan Murray, Jessel Allan Carneiro, Thounaojam Jeakson Singh, Rahul Kannoly Praveen, Sahal Abdul Samad, Jose Vicente Gomez Umpierrez, Costa Nhamoinesu, Juan De Dios Prados Lopez, Gary Hooper

SUBS– Prabhsukhan Singh Gill (GK), Bakary Kone, Nishu Kumar, Prasanth Karuthadathkuni, Irom Seityasen Singh, Rohit Kumar, Givson Singh Moirangthem, Abdul Hakku Nediyodath, Yendrembam Denechandram Meitei

ATKMB(3-5-2): Arindam Bhattacharia (GK), Sumit Rathi, Sandesh Jhingan, Carl Gerard Mchugh, Jayesh Dilip Rane, SK Sahil, Pritam Kotal, Roy Krishna, Prabir Das, Jose Luis Espinosa Arroyo, Marcelo Leite Pereira

SUBS– Manvir Singh, Komal Thatal, Avilash Paul, Glan Martins, Pronay Halder, Francisco Javier Hernandez Gonzalez, Salam Ranjan Singh, Regin M, Boris Singh Thangjam




Formed on 27th May 2014, Kerala Blasters FC is one of the eleven teams that is a part of the Indian Super League (ISL) since its inception, with its Home ground at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Kaloor, Kochi.

KBFC Connect

Kerala Blasters FC
Jawaharlal Nehru International Stadium,Stadium Link Road,Kaloor, Kochi, Kerala 682017

Latest Tweets

@KeralaBlasters - 8 hours

നന്നായിട്ടുണ്ട് 👌

@KeralaBlasters - 8 hours

3 മലയാളികൾ വേണം 👀

All contents © copyright Kerala Blasters FC. All rights reserved.